Persimmon, the fruit that sounds like a rugby player

Persimmon

This is a persimmon. The man at Mary’s, seeing me looking at it with a quizzical eye, described it as “sort of like a cross between a tomato, a mango, and a nectarine”.

He said if I bought one, I’d be back the next day to buy a whole box. So I bought two.

They taste…well, sort of like a cross between a tomato, a mango, and a nectarine, without actually tasting like any of those at all.

I enjoy discovering new species of fruit. It makes me feel like Magellan, only without the sea-sickness.

I wonder if Percy Montgomery will ever do an ad for the persimmon. You have to admit they sound very much alike.

Leave a Reply

