I always feel like a flat white in Australia.

Photo

This is a flat white. It’s the ubiquitous Australian version of “I’ll just have a coffee, thanks.”

But it’s not a filter coffee, with hot or cold milk on the side, as you might order in South Africa.

If that’s what you want, in Australia, you have to ask for a long black. But as a flat white, I find it a little awkward to order a long black, so I usually just settle for a flat white.

If you do say, as I did the first time I visited here, “I’ll just have some coffee, thanks”, your waitron will hover pen over pad and look at you as if you had just said, “I’ll just have some food, thanks.”

Thankfully, the coffee in Oz is almost uniformly good. Even if things are a lot simpler back home.

Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

