A Cartoon Invictus

Photo

I am an amateur collector of original artwork by professional cartoonists, and this watercolour work has pride of place in my humble collection.

It’s by Tinus Horn, a great South African caricaturist, and it first appeared in the Saturday Star a week after the Rugby World Cup Final at Ellis Park on June 24, 1995.

I asked Tinus if he would sell the original to me, and he very kindly went one step further by redoing it in a bigger format, adding a couple of flourishes, and then selling it to me.

I love this cartoon. It perfectly captures that warm and fuzzy Rainbow Moment when Matt Damon and Morgan Freeman, the two Captains of the Nation, stood on the turf and raised their arms in unity and triumph, while thousands upon thousands cheered in the stands, and millions more cheered in front of their TV sets at home.

I can’t wait to see the movie. I just hope it’s as good as the cartoon.

Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

