An interview with Damon Galgut, 18, on the occasion of the publication of his first novel in 1982

When I read today that the South African author, Damon Galgut, was on the shortlist for the 2010 Man Booker Prize, one of the world’s most prestigious literary awards, I suddenly remembered having interviewed him for the Sunday Times Magazine way back in 1982, when he was a lanky, moody teenager doing publicity for his first novel, A Sinless Season.

So I hauled out the yellowing clippings, which I knew would come in handy one day, if only to cause myself embarrassment.

Although I do think that the photograph, which I took because the mag’s own photographer was elsewhere occupied, is pretty good for an amateur journalist-produced photograph. At least the subject looks suitably distracted and thoughtful.

Anyway, click on the jpgs here to embiggen them and get a closer look at the interview and the photograph. And good luck, Mr Galgut.

 

Leave a Reply

