I wandered into the National Gallery on a whim, while strolling through the Company’s Garden. I think the gallery was about to close, but the kind lady at the desk said I could look around for a while, “two halls to the left, and two to the right”. Furthest to the right, I saw the megaphone on its tripod stand, a symbol of power both cartoonish and sinister. Then I got lost in a dark room where a giant wooden contraption, driven by gears and pulleys, was clunking and wheezing in perpetual motion. On the walls, projected images of a metronome ticking back and forth, faster and faster. Music played: a symphony of chaos and beauty, blasts of mournful tuba overlaid with looped voices. I was alone in the room. It was a private performance, intense and surrealistic, of “The Refusal of Time”, a multimedia installation by William Kentridge. If you’re in Cape Town, and you have the time, go and experience it. It’s mind-blowingly good.

One comment on “I wandered into the National Gallery on a whim, while strolling through the Company’s Garden. I think the gallery was about to close, but the kind lady at the desk said I could look around for a while, “two halls to the left, and two to the right”. Furthest to the right, I saw the megaphone on its tripod stand, a symbol of power both cartoonish and sinister. Then I got lost in a dark room where a giant wooden contraption, driven by gears and pulleys, was clunking and wheezing in perpetual motion. On the walls, projected images of a metronome ticking back and forth, faster and faster. Music played: a symphony of chaos and beauty, blasts of mournful tuba overlaid with looped voices. I was alone in the room. It was a private performance, intense and surrealistic, of “The Refusal of Time”, a multimedia installation by William Kentridge. If you’re in Cape Town, and you have the time, go and experience it. It’s mind-blowingly good.

  1. Late I know, I just saw this post. I am from Canada but I was in Cape Town in early July and had the same experience during the day even. I walked into this exhibit and was blown away, stayed for the entire 30 minutes. Amazing. Other people poked their heads in but no one entered. Imagine.

Leave a Reply

